# Standards

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) develops web accessibility standards for the different components:

# Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)

WCAG 2.1 extends on WCAG 2.0 and allows implementation of new technologies by addressing changes to the web. The W3C encourages use of the most current version of WCAG when developing or updating Web accessibility policies.

# WCAG 2.1 Four Main Guiding Principles (abbreviated as POUR):

  • Perceivable
    • Users must be able to perceive the information being presented
  • Operable
    • Interface forms, controls, and navigation are operable
  • Understandable
    • Information and the operation of user interface must be understandable to all users
  • Robust
    • Users must be able to access the content as technologies advance

# Web Accessibility Initiative – Accessible Rich Internet Applications (WAI-ARIA)

W3C's WAI-ARIA provides guidance on how to build dynamic content and advanced user interface controls.

Deployed on Netlify.
Last updated: 7/15/2020, 3:20:56 AM